top of page

What is DBT Therapy?

Dialectical Behavioral Therapy ( #DBT ) is a cognitive behavioral therapy that tries to identify and then change negative thinking patterns while pushing for positive behavior changes.

It is also the most successful Borderline Personality Disorder treatment.

There are four parts of DBT Therapy:

  • Individual Psychotherapy

  • Skills Training

  • In-The-Moment Coaching / Crisis Therapy in between sessions

  • Group Treatment

What does it mean?

"D" - Dialectical, means "relating to the logical discussion of ideas and opinions" and "concern with or acting through opposing forces."

In DBT, dialectical practices help the therapist and the client find common ground on extreme subjects.

"B" - Behavioral, meaning, "the way in which one acts or conducts oneself, especially toward others."

DBT requires a behavioral approach. Meaning, it targets behaviors relevant to the particular patient's goals and needs.

"T" - Therapy, being"treatment intended to relieve or heal a disorder."

What is it for?

The focus of DBT is acceptance and change. Two opposites, that when brought together bring far better results than either can alone. Acceptance of patients' experiences to help change thought patterns, emotions, and reactions formed by them.

#DBT was originally created to treat women with suicidal thoughts and those with #BorderlinePersonalityDisorder. However, it has since been adapted to treat other mental health issues. Such as #Depression, #ADHD, Mood and Eating Disorders, as well as #PTSD.

How Does It Work?

#DialecticalBehavioralTherapy focuses on four ways to improve life skills.

  • Distress Tolerance - being able to feel intense emotions, like anger, without reacting impulsively, using self-harm, or substance abuse.

  • Emotional Regulation - being able to recognize, properly label, and adjust emotions.

  • Mindfulness - becoming more aware of self and others as well as the present moment.

  • Interpersonal Effectiveness - properly navigating conflict and interacting assertively.

There are four stages to the approach as well.

  • Stage 1: Treats the most self-destructive behavior. (ex. suicide or self-injury)

  • Stage 2: Address life skills, like emotional regulation, distress tolerance, and interpersonal effectiveness.

  • Stage 3: Works on improving self-esteem and relationships.

  • Stage 4: Focuses on relationship connections and finding happiness.

Thank you for sharing your time with me.. I hope you have a WONDERFUL day! -Borderline Brooke


Screen Shot 2021-03-18 at 4.53.06 PM.png

Thanks for stopping by!

Hey! My name is Brooke. 

I'm a Borderline diagnosed at the age of 17; a full-time employee and mother of 4. 

I've decided it's time, though I have a busy schedule, to make time to share what I've learned about BPD not only from my research but from living with the disorder myself. 

I created this blog to help others with Borderline Personality Disorder, as well as those who have someone in their life that suffers from BPD.​

Let the Posts
Come To You!

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
bottom of page